Cartier Concours d'Elegance Fetes Indian Motoring


The second Cartier ‘Travel with Style’ Concours was an
extraordinary showcase of India’s
unique Classic Cars on March 12 at The Polo Grounds, New

In keeping with the spirit and excitement of a ‘true’
Concours, each vintage car had to be in running order and make one circuit at
the event, making for a truly stunning spectacle of India’s
rich motoring heritage.

2 2

Mr Bernard Fornas, President and CEO of Cartier
International said, ‘India
has had an influence on the creativity of Cartier. We are very close to the
country and our relationship goes back to more than 100 years.’

‘Cartier Concours d’Elegance is one of the 4 big concours in
the world, and it’s a significant endeavour which takes a lot of effort for us
to put together. We are delighted to showcase the crème de la crème of
cars at Cartier “Travel with Style”’.

This year, 56 cars were invited to compete in seven
categories. Special additional categories this year included a Children’s
Choice award, the judges for which were the children of judges John McCaw and
William ‘Chip’ Connor II, and a Lady Judge’s Choice award, given by former
model Yasmin Le Bon.

4 2

5 2

The ‘Throne Car’, a 1911 Rolls Royce Silver Ghost Dome Roof
Limousine owned by HIH Princess Ezra of Hyderabad
was awarded the prestigious ‘Best Car of the Show’ award by Bernard Fornas of
Cartier at the awards ceremony.

A panel of internationally renowned judges, comprising of
HRH Prince Michael of Kent, Sir Anthony Bamford, David Clark, William ‘Chip’
Connor II, Sir Michael Kadoorie, Yasmine Le Bon, Olivier Martinez, John McCaw,
Gordon Murray, Bryan Ferry and Peter Stevens, was at hand to announce the
winners in the Awards Ceremony. The master of Ceremonies was Mr Alain de
Cadenet, who has made his reputation building and driving his own sports

Winners at the Cartier ‘Travel with Style’ Concours
d’Elegance 2011


The Best Car of the Show Award for 2011:

Rolls Royce Silver Ghost Dome Roof Limousine
(the Throne Car), owned by HIH Princess Ezra of Hyderabad

Best of

1911 Rolls Royce Silver Ghost Dome Roof Limousine, owned by HIH Princess Ezra of Hyderabad

Jaguar Class:

up—1947 SS Jaguar, owned by Mr Laxmi Raman

of Class—1937 SS Jaguar, owned by Mr TT Raghunathan

Roadster Class:

of Class—1959 Daimler SP 250 Dart, owned by Mr V.P. Singh Badnore

Indian Heritage Class:

of Class—1955 Fiat 1100-103 Millecento, owned by Mr Owais Moshin Kidwai

Post-War Classics Class:

Runner up—1956 Cadillac Series 62 Convertible, owned by Mr Sudhir Kasliwal

Runner up—1958 Mercedes 300D, owned by Mr K.C. Anand

of Class—1947 Cadillac Series 62, owned by Mr Amal Tanna

Resurrection Cup:

Mercedes Nurburg, owned by Viveck Goenka

Judges Choice (Ladies):

Lancia Di Lambda, owned by Mr Prahlad Agarwalla

Classics Class:

up—1930 Stutz Series M, owned by Mr Diljeet Titus

of Class—1938 Bentley 4 ¼ litre overdrive MX Series, owned by Mr Jaiswal

Preservation Class:

of Class—1959 Chevrolet Impala, owned by Mr Sukhwant Singh 

Classics Rolls Royce Class:

up—1937 Rolls Royce 25/30 h.p., owned by Roshni Jaiswal

Children’s Choice:

Rolls Royce Phantom 1, owned by Mr Yadupati Singhania

Copyright © is part of the SPH Magazines Luxury Network